The Department Of Marine & Wildlife Resources

The Department Of Marine & Wildlife Resources

Thursday, September 25, 2014

The Community-based Fisheries Management Program (CFMP) has integrated with the No-Take MPA Program to further promote marine conservation and management in village communities of American Samoa.  There are 11 Village Marine Protected Areas, including those that are No-Take MPAs, in American Samoa under the Community-based Fisheries Management Program.

  1. Alega
  2. Alofau
  3. Amanave
  4. Amaua & Auto
  5. Aoa
  6. Fagamalo
  7. Fagasa
  8. Matu'u & Faganeanea
  9. Poloa
  10. Sa'ilele
  11. Vatia

A Community Monitoring Workshop was conducted on September 16 - 19, 2014 to inform village mayors and representatives of this integration.  In addition, they have been informed of research results and introduced to partners within the department and government that can help with issues that have contributed to the disintegrated state of the marine resources in their villages.

1 comment: